Snowed In


Well it’s a little snowy here in the Northeast! Nemo certainly did a number on us. The snow drifts are unreal but I believe the actual total is right around 26 inches which is still pretty insane! It looks like the storm is over and now we just need to shovel out (just keep shoveling, just keep shoveling 😉 as Dory would say) but last night was a little different. We lost power around 8, got it back around 10 and it was out again by 11. In the meantime we played some games including Yahtzee and Pass the Pigs before finally heading to bed.

image_1360431103425009

After a freezinggggg night in bed, the power finally came back on at 10 this morning. It was still absolutely freezing in the house (50 degrees!) when I decided to roll out of bed. Hot tea and overnight french toast was a must! So delicious, that gooey caramel side is the best!

image_1360433445043422

 

After lounging around for a bit, I decided to start some baking. I’ve had a bag of Reese’s laying around the house for a while and instead of eating them, I figured we were due for some Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes around here. I used a box of Betty Crocker Chocolate Fudge Cake to speed up the process, just in case we happened to lose power again. Some cupcakes I put in chopped miniature Reese’s, some whole Reese’s and other just plain. I wanted to mix things up and make it more of a “surprise”!

image_1360433457161962

For the frosting I figured I would just wing it. I typically do a simple buttercream so I based my peanut butter frosting on that. A stick of butter, lots of peanut butter, a few cups of powdered sugar and a little milk.

image_1360445694817642

Before I dig into a cupcake or two, I’m heading outside and into the snow for a bit! Wish me luck!
Leave a Reply

